Women of Color in the Arts Meeting & Brunch

As a first time APAP attendee, the WOCA meeting and brunch immediately caught my eye and it was a wonderful way to connect with other WOC in all levels of arts admin.  Looking around most of the APAP sessions and audiences at the showcases, I saw very few who looked like me, and attending WOCA provided an immediate network of support and comfort.   I was able to connect further with women from all over the country, and I appreciated the hospitality and warmth I felt from the member that invited me (Kaisha Johnson). The main goals of the group are to:

  • Create a real and virtual community to discuss issues in the field, specifically affecting women of color
  • Develop a community to share information about collaborative programming, funding resources and career opportunities
  • Organize annual special interest group sessions to fellowship and create agendas at regional, national and international arts arts conferences
  • Facilitate panel discussions at arts conferences, specifically targeted to encouraging diversity in the field behind the stage and addressing the necessary sensitivity needed for implementing more diversity on stage
  • Provide mentorship opportunities for new and mid-level administrators

Connecting with others of the aspects I treasured the most about this process of APAP.  Hearing about what others are doing and experiencing, and even hearing what other folk’s job titles were helped me realize the potential for growth that there is in this field and that I am not so isolated.  In fact, after the meeting, a colleague from another arts org in Seattle approached me and we discussed the possibility of starting a division of WOCA right here in Seattle.  I am familiar with this kind of work I have done previously with the UW Bothell Women of Color Collective, which has become a  great support system for me academically, personally, and professionally.  I look forward to connecting with this colleague and have applied to become a member of WOCA.  Check out photos from the brunch here: APAP 2012 Women of Color in the Arts Brunch

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

